Critical Care Medicine Division

The Critical Care Medicine (CCM) Division in the Department of Anesthesiology  participates in the care of critically ill patients in the modern and well-equipped surgical and cardiothoracic intensive care units (‘ICUs’) at the University of Arizona Medical Center.  The CCM/ICU team consists of faculty anesthesiologists, fellows, residents, and medical students.  Anesthesiology residents typically spend 3 months on the CCM/ICU service during the CA-2 and CA-3 residency period.  The Anesthesiology CCM service was established in 1975 by Charles W. Otto, MD, FCCM, Professor of Anesthesiology, and Associate Professor of Medicine. Currently C. Mark Bazzell, MD  Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology is the Director of Critical Care Medicine service and his first fellow in the ACGME-approved Critical Care in Medicine fellowship, was Assistant Professor Ryan W. Matika, MD. Each were named “Teacher of the Year” by graduating residents at a departmental event in June, 2012.  Dr. Matika is now the Residency Program Director.